Click here for Hurricane Irma updates.

2018 Election

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option





November 6, 2018


SEAT #2 - Commissioner (2 Year Term)

John George Beckford
Richard Campbell  
Sarah McIntosh
Mae Smith

SEAT #4 - Commissioner (4 Year Term)

Adonis J. Gibson
Denise D. Grant
Robert L. Lynch

Sarai Shonjell Martin 

Lamont David Roberts

SEAT #5 - Mayor (4 Year Term)

Kenneth Raymond Thurston



Must be a registered voter and be able to provide a voters registration number.


1. Form: DS-DE 9

  • Appointment of Campaign Treasurer and Designation of Campaign Depository for Candidates shall be filed with the filing officer (City Clerk) PRIOR to opening the campaign account. Form DS-DE 9 is not effective until campaign treasurer signs and it is filed with filing officer.
  • Form DS-DE 9 is not considered filed upon mailing, but only upon receipt by the filing officer.
  • Form DS-DE 9  shall be on file with the filing officer prior to the candidate accepting any contributions or making any expenditure, or authorizing another to accept contributions or make expenditures on the person's behalf.

2. Form: DS-DE 84

  • Statement of Candidate MUST be filed with filing officer within 10 days after filing the Form DS-DE 9 stating that candidate has received, read, and understands the requirements of Chapter 106, Florida Statues.

The laws governing campaign finance reporting and campaign financing limitations are complex, for more detail; please refer to Chapter 106, Florida Statues.

3. Form: Broward County Statement of Ethical Campaign Practices


City of Lauderhill Code of Ordinances: Article VII. Qualifications and Elections

Section 7.01. Nonpartisan elections

All qualifications and elections for the office of commissioner shall be conducted on a nonpartisan basis without regard or designation of political party affiliation of any nominee or any nomination petition or ballot.

(Ord. No. 95-137, § 1, 7-24-95)

 Section 7.02 Procedure for becoming a candidate.

Candidates for elective office shall qualify for such office by filing of a written notice of candidacy with the city clerk and payment of a filing fee which shall be set by ordinance. A candidate for elective office must be a resident of the city for a period of not less than six (6) months prior to the date upon which he or she would be elected to the office for which he or she is a candidate.

(Ord. No. 95-137, § 1, 7-24-95)




Please schedule an appointment with the City Clerk if you are interested in becoming a qualifying candidate.

City Clerk's Office
Andrea M. Anderson, City Clerk
(954) 730-3010


Additional Information can be found at:

Florida Division of Elections
Broward County Supervisor of Elections