News List

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

City of Lauderhill Welcomes Newly Elected Officials

On Tuesday, November 20, 2018 at 12 noon, residents, staff, Vice Mayor Bates and Commissioner Berger welcomed in newly elected officials at the Official Swearing In Ceremony at City Hall. Commissioner Denise D. Grant was sworn in by former Mayor Richard J. Kaplan. Commissioner Richard Campbell was sworn in by Dr. Stanley H. Wilson. Former commissioner, now Mayor, Ken Thurston was sworn in by Judge Michael Robinson. Mayor Thurston however, is no stranger to the City Commission as he served on the dais for 8 years as a Commissioner before running unopposed for the Mayor's seat. Mayor Thurston is the City of Lauderhill's first black Mayor!

Family members and residents joyously surrounded the three newly sworn in elected officials and enjoyed what was a happy and historic ceremony.   After the formalities in the City Commission Chambers, the Mayor and Commissioners along with guests, continued the celebration with food and fun in the lobby and multi-purpose rooms. Pictures were taken and a congratulatory cake was cut by the three who were glowing with smiles and radiance. Congratulations to all of the new Officials!

 Commissioner Grant, Mayor Thurston, & Commissioner Campbell

Return to full list >>